Skip to content

Praise or Blame is the Name of the Game

August 24, 2011

I think I tend to like stories of juvenile delinquency because I always wanted to be one. By God’s grace, the rebel in me never reared its ugly head in any significant way, but watching others do what I always wanted to do certainly has its thrills. It’s here that Frank McMahon’s Borstal Boy–adapted from protagonist Brendan Behan’s own notes from the delinquent underground–succeeds tremendously. Where it fails? In presenting a story arc.

The entire play seems more like a series of vignettes, connected only by the young main character’s presence and strung together by the grown main character’s narration. The result is an entertaining trip through the life of a delinquent by an author who neither praises nor blames Behan’s actions or the way he seems to learn nothing from his experience except tips on not getting caught next time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2011 6:26 PM

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  2. July 18, 2012 8:39 PM

    nice!

Leave a Reply

